hit counter

Vegan Chocolate Pecan Pie

Many of you emailed to ask about the vegan chocolate pecan pie that I had for Thanksgiving. It’s a recipe from a friend of mine, so it is not my recipe. It is, however, super tasty.

Vegan Chocolate Pecan Pie

Vegan Chocolate Pecan Pie

 

Ingredients:
1/2 cup sugar in the raw
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup dark chocolate cocoa powder
1 cup pecans
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons flour
4 tablespoons almond milk
2 egg substitutes
8 tablespoons Earth Balance butter
1 9″ unbaked chocolate pie crust

How to Make:
1. Preheat the oven to 375.
2. Mix the ingredients all together.
3. Pour the ingredients into the pie shell.
4. Put the pie onto a cookie sheet and bake for 20 minutes.
5. Reduce the oven heat to 275.
6. Bake for another 20 minutes.
7. Check the pie center. If it’s watery, bake another 20 minutes. If it’s slightly soft, it’s perfect.
8. Let it cool for 20 minutes, then serve.

I think my friend based the recipe off of her grandma’s pecan pie and this one, as her Grandma’s pecan pie was not vegan, but it was chocolate.

  • From our partners
    • Icequeen81ma

      I see vegan everywhere,  Nothing against it  but sometimes I don’t get it.  vegan mashed potatoes  vegan fruit juice and vegan chocolate cake and much more .  But my big question is arent potatoes   fruit and  chocolate  already vegan?  They don’t come from animals . potatoes comes from the ground,  fruit from trees or the ground, and chocolate also from cacao they are planted. soooo how can these dishes be more vegan?

      • http://www.Phyrra.net/ Phyrra

        Icequeen81ma Butter is typically not vegan because it’s made from dairy. Milk is typically not vegan because it’s made from dairy.
        This pie originally called for cow’s milk and butter. We subbed Almond Milk (vegan), earth balance butter (soy free, dairy free butter).
        When I make mashed potatoes, I use almond milk and earth balance butter. I don’t use cow’s milk, but most people typically use dairy milk and dairy butter for mashed potatoes.
        I’m allergic to soy, so I can’t have that. I don’t like cow’s milk and I prefer almond milk, so I always use almond milk for cooking. I like olive oil for butter, so I use that most often.
        It’s all in how you prepare the food.

        • Icequeen81ma

          Phyrra Icequeen81ma   Hi thank you for the explanation  
          well then is it different there, when we make mashed potatoes here we just mash the potatoes and put some salt on it. i I personally add some seasoning in the water when they are boiling  ( salt, unions, garlic, oregano and some safras for coloring is a kind of masala  mix powder .That’s why I didn’t get it .  I can understand about the cake. But the juice is still a question mark.

          • http://www.Phyrra.net/ Phyrra

            Icequeen81ma I would think all juice would be vegan, but I don’t know, since I don’t drink packaged juices very much. It’s probably got to do with whatever they add in.